The New Niki Marangou Memorial Scholarship for Postgraduate Research in Modern Greek Studies

The Department of Classics at King?s College London is pleased to announce the award of one new Studentship for postgraduate research in the Department, tenable for up to three years, starting in January 2017. This award has been made possible thanks to Mr Constantis Candounas, in memory of the inspirational Cypriot poet, novelist, painter and bookshop-owner Niki Marangou, who died in 2013.


The Studentship will be to the value of £5,000 per year, payable to the student in two instalments annually.The student?s progress will be reviewed twice a year, and the Studentship will not be renewed if progress is judged unsatisfactory.


It is a condition of the award that the successful applicant, within a maximum of 18 months from first registration, and after consultation with the supervisor, will submit a 5,000 word essay on some aspect of the work of Niki Marangou. The essay must be suitable for publication on the Niki Marangou website (or elsewhere with the agreement of the donor).


The student will be expected to acknowledge the support of this award on the title page of his/her thesis and in any future publications resulting directly from it.


Applicants must first have applied, via the King?s online portal, to the MPhil/ PhD programme in Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies (Department of Classics):


and be holding an offer (unconditional or conditional) of a place by the closing date below.


To apply for the Niki Marangou Memorial Studentship, they should then write separately to:


Professor Roderick Beaton

Department of Classics

King?s College London



United Kingdom


or send an email to Professor Rod Beaton stating their wish to be considered


All applicants should enclose a brief statement of why they consider themselves particularly suitable for this award. They should also ask the academic referees who have supported their application to write to the same address, by the deadline, endorsing their candidature for this Scholarship.


Deadline for applications: 20 May 2016